Pages

Thursday, May 28, 2015

Where’s the New AHDI Website?

We previously announced that the AHDI website is undergoing a complete overhaul. We were scheduled to launch in early May but we have encountered delays. As you know, technology changes can be tricky and our website migration was not immune to this. A revised launch date has not been set yet but we will keep you updated as more information becomes available.

Wednesday, May 27, 2015

AHDI Seeks "Challenge Quiz" Author

The AHDI editorial staff is actively seeking a volunteer to author the "CMT/CHDS Challenge Quiz" in Plexus magazine. If you are a certified medical transcriptionist or a certified healthcare documentation specialist and are interested in writing this credit-worthy 20-question multiple-choice quiz, please send a 10-question sample (with answers and explanations) to the editor at kwall@ahdionline.org.

Item-writing experience preferred.

Monday, May 25, 2015

Polls Opening May 26 for AHDI Integrity Award Voting

Eligible voting members will also vote to select this year’s AHDI Integrity Award winners. The polls will be opening on May 26 so watch your email inbox for details. Nominees will be presented for the following awards:

  • Advocate of the Year
  • Educator of the Year
  • Employer of the Year
  • Membership Impact Award
  • Member of the Year Award
  • Innovation Through Technology Award
  • Rising Star Award

The Integrity Awards will be presented at AHDI’s Healthcare Documentation Integrity Conference on Saturday, August 8.

Win a One-Year AHDI Individual Professional Membership!

Individually and collectively, we have important stories to tell--our stories--about the critical errors we catch and correct or flag on a daily basis. Healthcare documentation specialists are important to patient safety, but it seems like we're the only ones who know that. We've been "invisible" far too long.

So here is your chance to make a difference! We need our workforce VISIBLE and our VOICES heard. We're asking for individual and group video submissions, stating the reason you became an MT/HDS, why it's important to patient care, and why stakeholders should embrace the knowledge and skills HDSs bring to the table.

Download the "My HDS Story" video information packet and guidelines for full details. This packet includes tips, how-to and sample videos, resources, and much more!

We challenge individuals, MTSOs, components, and MT/HDS departments to get on board and submit a video testimonial! AHDI will use clips from these to create a series of videos to go viral and help get our message out, and all participants will be entered into a drawing to win one of several great prizes, including a 1-year AHDI Individual Professional membership!

Sunday, May 24, 2015

Upcoming Events

AHDI webinars are a great opportunity to continue your education from the comfort of your home or work office. Certified medical transcriptionists (CMTs) and certified healthcare documentation specialists (CHDSs) can choose from a variety of topics approved for continuing education credit toward recertification.

June 10
Speech Recognition Editing Productivity & QA Feedback
Presenters: Liz Harmeson, CMT, RHIA; Regina Buchwald
Time: 1 PM PDT/4 PM EDT
CE Credit: 1 MTT

June 24
The Ins and Outs of Applying for a Work-at-Home Job
Presenter: Linda Allard, CHPS
Time: 12 PM PDT/3 PM EDT
CE Credit: 1 PD

July 8
Brain Health Matters
Presenters: Vicki Gelfeld, MBA, and Patty David
Time: 1 PM PDT/4 PM EDT
CE Credit: 1 CoM

October 8
Compensation Best Practices Toolkit
Panelists: Sherry Doggett; Joyce Smith; Patricia King; Carole Gilbert, RHIT, CHTS-IM; Cheryl Klopcic, RN, BSN, CMT, RHIT
Time: 1 PM PDT/4 PM EDT
CE Credit: 1 PD

See all available webinars here. View the AHDI Events Calendar to learn about AHDI component events and other industry-related events.